top of page

National Curriculum Assessments KS2

Below you will find information about the National Curriculum Assessments for Key Stage 2.

At the end of Year 6, children will sit tests in:

  • Reading

  • Maths

  • Spelling, punctuation and grammar


These tests will be both written and marked externally, and the results will be used to measure Edward the Elder's performance compared to other schools. Your child’s marks will be used along with teacher assessments to give a picture of their attainment and progress.

The Government will give scaled scores to children. The score needed to reach National Standard is 100.

Year 4 Multiplication Checks

The Multiplication Tables Check (MTC) is a key stage 2 assessment to be taken by pupils at the end of Year 4 (3 week period from Monday 5th June 2023). The purpose of the MTC is to make sure times tables knowledge is at the expected level. The MTC is an online test were pupils are asked 25 questions on times tables 2 to 12.

bottom of page